Own A Piece of Tavern on the Green History


Tavern on the Green sign

The iconic Tavern on the Green restaurant in New York closed its doors on December 31st following the owners filing for bankruptcy. The famed Central Park restaurant with its six elaborate dining rooms and 10 miles of white Christmas lights wrapping trees out front, will sadly twinkle no longer.

The restaurant is a landmart that dates back to 1934, when Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia opened it. In 1974 it was reopened after a $10 million renovation by the colorful LeRoy family, who still own it today. The LeRoys filed for bankruptcy after the city didn’t renew their operating license.

Now everyone can own a piece of Tavern on the Green history. The antiques and the extraordinary creations will all be sold. The Baccarat crystal chandeliers will be sold. The fabulous stained glass will be sold. Copper weathervanes and stone sculpture will be sold. The outdoor garden furniture and Japanese lanterns, so much a trademark of the Tavern of the Green will be sold. The place settings that were part of so many wonderful dinners will be sold. Even the beautiful canvas murals on the walls will carefully come down and find new owners.

 Bidding starts on January 13th. With more than 25,000 auction items – the front-entrance sign and Baccarat-crystal chandeliers alike – and values anywhere from $100 to $1.2 million


Comments are closed.